Collin CAD

Collin Central Appraisal District (CCAD) decides our property appraised values so our taxing entities can tax us based on those values. 

CCAD has a Board of Directors made up of five people chosen by our four taxing entities based on how much tax they collect. At election time, our ISDs get the most votes because they tax us the most. Ken Maun, the elected Collin County Tax Assessor and Collector, is a non-voting member of the Board.
There is no requirement that there be any direct citizen oversight of the Appraisal Board. The reasoning is that citizens elect the representatives for our ISDs, cities, Collin College, and Collin County, so we trust them to elect the right CCAD Board of Directors. Really though, we're allowing the taxing entities that tax us to also pick the people who will oversee our property appraisals. There is no way around this being an issue. We cannot say that CCAD is operating independently when their board is elected by our taxing entities. This is an issue. 

The 2018 election just took place and the board members are the same as before:

Their bios show how long some of these people have been the Board of Directors. Sadly, there are no term limits and there is nothing in the state law that prevents any elected official from a taxing entity from also serving on the Board. This year, McKinney City Council put all their votes in to elect a sitting City Council member from Parker, TX. He lost. 

EARNEST BURKE Is a current board member and has served since 1/2016.
Nominated by Plano ISD and Collin County Community College. Resides in Plano, TX.

RONALD CARLISLE Is a current board member and has served since 1/1994.
Nominated by Frisco ISD and Collin County Community College. Resides in Frisco, TX.

WAYNE MAYO Is a current board member and has served since 1/1998.
Nominated by the City of Lucas, the City of Richardson, the City of Sachse, Plano ISD and Collin County Community College. Resides in Richardson, TX.

MICHAEL A. PIREK Is a current board member and has served since 1/2014.
Nominated by the City of Plano, Plano ISD, and Collin County Community College. Resides in Plano, TX.

GARY RODENBAUGH Is a current board member and has served since 1/2001.
Nominated by the Allen ISD and Collin County Community College. Resides in Allen, TX.

There is also an Appraisal Review Board we will see if we contest our appraisal values. Here's the blurb about them on the CCAD website:
An Appraisal Review Board (ARB) is a group of private citizens authorized to resolve disputes between taxpayers and the Appraisal District. ARB members are appointed by the Local Administrative Judge of Collin County for two-year terms. Although the Appraisal Review Board is funded by the Appraisal District, the ARB is a separate authoritative body. The ARB determines taxpayer protests and taxing unit challenges. The ARB also determines whether the Chief Appraiser has granted or denied exemptions and agricultural appraisals properly. The ARB's decisions are binding only for the year in question. The ARB meets throughout the year on a monthly basis to carry out supplemental duties. Most ARB meetings are open to the public. The ARB establishes its own Procedures and Rules that govern its operations based on the Texas Comptroller's Model Hearing Procedures.
Below, find out how many votes each taxing entity gets in Collin County to elect the CCAD Board of Directors. 

No comments:

Post a Comment